top of page

New Moon (Stephenie Meyer) | Book Review #14

[ The Twilight Saga #2 ]


This was re-read for me. Right after the first Twilight movie came out, I was obsessed. During my computer class, I'd look up nearly everything I could on The Twilight Saga. The next time I was in Wal-Mart with my mom, I begged her to buy the New Moon book. I needed to know what happened next.

Book: New Moon (The Twilight Saga #2) by Stephenie Meyer

24 chapters, 563 pgs.

Started: August 29, 2022

Finished: September 7, 2022


The Description


For Bella Swan, there is one thing more important than life itself: Edward Cullen. But being in love with a vampire is even more dangerous than Bella could ever have imagined. Edward has already rescued Bella from the clutches of one evil vampire, but now, as their daring relationship threatens all that is near and dear to them, they realize their troubles may be just beginning.

Bella and Edward face a devastating separation, the mysterious appearance of dangerous wolves roaming the forest in Forks, a terrifying threat of revenge from a female vampire and a deliciously sinister encounter with Italy's reigning royal family of vampires, the Volturi.


The Review


In the beginning, I struggled to get into this book. That usually happens when I'm re-reading a book I've read before. Although, as I further into the book and Edward's part dimmed down to bare mention, my attention raised back up. During my first read and initial obsession, I was on Team Jacob.


I am upset, however, to see that my stance has changed. With the perspective of Midnight Sun (Twilight from Edward's point-of-view) still fresh in my mind, I know too well how much Edward truly loves Bella. Also, Jacob grows into being a little possessive in this book, and it doesn't help that Bella instantly starts playing with his emotions the moment she bought those bikes.


The Incredulous Vocabulary


Once again, there's heavy use of the word incredulous. After a point, you'd think Stephenie Meyer's editor would be like, "Stephenie, we have to stop. The reader is going to get tired of reading this word."


I did. I really hope it isn't in the next book.


Final Thoughts


I'd like to say that I enjoyed this book with the same excitement I had back in 2008, but I have more this go around. If anything, I have more of an understanding of the context than just going off what I watched in the first movie.


This series and the differences in the films have led me to add books to my to-be-read that I've seen be adapted into movies, such as The Cheetah Girls series, T*Witches, several Nicholas Sparks books, and The Time Traveler's Wife.


Rating and Recommendation


5 out of 5 stars


I will be continuing, reading the rest of the books in The Twilight Saga, finishing it off with Life and Death, the gender-swapped reimagining of Twilight.


I recommend this series, even if you've already seen the movies. There's so much more to enjoy in these books, and the character development is incredible.



5 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page