top of page

The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner (Stephenie Meyer) | Book Review #17

[ The Twilight Saga 3.5 ]


From the moment that I saw Jodelle Ferland play Bree Tanner in the adaptation of Eclipse, I loved the character. I mean, back then it was more about the actress than the character. Though I knew her tragic ending, I felt there was more to her life than an impatient Volturi (Jane) just ready to go home.



Book: Eclipse (The Twilight Saga 3.5) by Stephenie Meyer

178 pgs.

Started: October 26, 2022

Finished: October 29, 2022


The Description


Newly turned vampire Bree Tanner lives in terror — and must find a way out of untold danger — in this pulse-pounding novella, a companion to Eclipse.


Bree Tanner, a self-described “vampire nerd” first introduced in Eclipse, lives in terror in a coven of newborn vampires. She is a member of Victoria’s vampire army, and as that army closes on Bella Swan and the Cullens, she finds her first friend and discovers the truth about daylight. While fans may know how it ends, they don’t yet have the full story: Bree’s tale of danger, mystery, and romance is one for the books.


The Review


I’m always sad at how short this book is, despite “short” literally being in the title. From the very beginning of this book, I felt sad. Here’s a girl who is just trying to navigate this dangerous and new world that she’s been forced into. There’s hope when she starts talking to Riley’s second in command.


As I got halfway though the book, I found myself hoping that Stephenie Meyer tricked readers with this by making it into a “what if” story. Like, what if Bree Tanner wasn’t doomed to die, but fell in love instead.


Sadly, that wasn’t the case.


A Different View


It was interesting to not only get a glimpse into Bree’s life, but to also see a manipulated side of the Volturi that we all expected from the moment they were introduced in New Moon. They hoped for Victoria and Riley to succeed in putting an end to Bella Swan and the Cullen/Hale family.


I always find these types of books fascinating. Firsthand, you see the universe from the point of view of the main character (i.e. Bella), and then the author takes you on a while ride of the same story you thought you understood the first time by shifting to view to that off another character, much like Meyer did with Midnight Sun (Twilight from Edward’s point of view).


Final Thoughts


This one book connected to The Twilight Saga that I’m sure can be read without even having read the others. When I read this book years ago, I’d only seen the movies, and I wasn’t lost at all.


I’m a huge fan of this book, and I’m not ashamed to admit that I cried more for her death here than I did when I was reading it in Eclipse. Then again, that’s what the beauty and the art of context does to a person.


Rating and Recommendation


5 out of 5 stars


My journey through the Twilight universe is almost over. Breaking Dawn is next and I'm almost sad to see it end. I've put off reading this series for so long because I didn't want to compromise my obsession for the movie adaptations. In a way, that hasn't changed, and if anything, I'll view them again with a deeper understanding.



2 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page