top of page

Eclipse (Stephenie Meyer) | Book Review #16

Updated: Nov 16, 2022

[ The Twilight Saga, Book 3 ]


The film adaptation of this book has always been my least favorite part of the series. Although, there were parts of this book that I enjoyed a little bit more than I was gearing myself up for. Let's get into it!



Book: Eclipse (The Twilight Saga, 3) by Stephenie Meyer

27 chapters, 629 pgs.

Started: September 17, 2022

Finished: September 28, 2022


The Description


As Seattle is ravaged by a string of mysterious killings and malicious vampire continues her quest for revenge, Bella once again finds herself surrounded by danger. In the midst of it all, she is forced to choose between her love for Edward and her friendship with Jacob -- knowing that her decision has the potential to ignite the ageless struggle between vampire and werewolf. With her graduation quickly approaching, Bella has one more decision to make: life or death. But which is which?


Rosalie


Contextually, Rosalie (Edward's adoptive sister) rarely gets any major time in this series, until the next book, Breaking Dawn. There was a small conversation in New Moon when Bella was getting the Cullen family to vote on her becoming vampire or not.


There was a shining, most favorited moment in this book, which is Rosalie telling Bella the tale of how she became a vampire. Though I am fascinated by the backstories of each of the Cullen/Hale family, especially Esme's, I connected to Rosalie and actually felt sympathy. It made me hate her a lot less.


A Bit Too Much


I am Team Edward. That's the revelation that I came to after reading Midnight Sun. (Ugh!) However, his actions toward Bella and Jacob's friendship was a bit too much. It seemed almost overly aggressive. Although, I didn't care for the way that Jacob was acting either. Once again, Bella was toying and taking advantage of Jacob's feelings for her.


Final Thoughts


Honestly, I've enjoyed reading this series far more than I thought I would. Now that the "revenge" storyline is over, I'm ready to see the story shift away from that. Breaking Dawn was my favorite book when I read it the first time. I can't wait to read it again with this new context of reading the rest of the books in the series, and not just New Moon.


Like I knew it would, Bree Tanner's small moment in this book has made me want to re-read that novella, The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner.


Rating and Recommendation


4 out of 5 stars


I will be continuing, reading The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner and Breaking Dawn. My bestie and I have decided to put some distance between us and this series for a few months before we return to it for Life and Death: Twilight Reimagined.


I recommend this series, even if you've already seen the movies. There's so much more to enjoy in these books, and the character development is incredible.



1 view0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page