top of page

Long Live the Pumpkin Queen (Shea Ernshaw) | Book Review #15

Updated: Nov 9, 2022

[ The Nightmare Before Christmas ]


I've been uber-obsessed with The Nightmare Before Christmas for over 20 years! Traditionally, I watch it every year, along with Hocus Pocus and R. L. Stine's The Haunting Hour: Don't Think About It! The moment I spotted this book on the shelf at Wal-Mart, I snatched it so quickly! My partner isn't a book reader, so he wanted me to read it and tell him about it. And, I was NOT disappointed!



Book: Long Live the Pumpkin Queen by Shea Ernshaw

20 chapters, 320 pgs.

Started: September 9, 2022

Finished: September 15, 2022


The Description


Jack and Sally are "truly meant to be" . . . or are they?


Sally Skellington is the official, newly-minted Pumpkin Queen after a whirlwind courtship with her true love, Jack, who Sally adores with every inch of her fabric seams—if only she could say the same for her new role as Queen of Halloween Town. Cast into the spotlight and tasked with all sorts of queenly duties, Sally can't help but wonder if all she's done is trade her captivity under Dr. Finkelstein for a different cage. But when Sally and Zero accidentally uncover a long-hidden doorway to an ancient realm called Dream Town, she'll unknowingly set into motion a chain of sinister events that put her future as Pumpkin Queen, and the future of Halloween Town itself, into jeopardy.


Can Sally discover what it means to be true to herself and save the town she's learned to call home, or will her future turn into her worst... well, nightmare?


The Review


It's no secret that I've been watching The Nightmare Before Christmas more times than any holiday-themed movie ever. I could sing along with each of the songs, and I can't tell you how many times I've wished that I could pull of being Sally for Halloween. Above Hocus Pocus and the first three Halloweentown movies, it is my favorite Halloween movie.


I was so excited to dive into this book, and it paired well with my favorite moments from the movie. I loved how it built onto the mythology and lore of the film, but I had two revelations while reading this book. I'm almost ashamed to admit them, given how many times I've seen the movie.


1.) SALLY IS A RAG DOLL.

Like I said, "ashamed to admit it." I never got the vibe that she was a rag doll. I thought she was practically a parody to Frankenstein's monster or the bride. I thought she was merely human body parts that were sewn together and she was brought to life. I never questioned that she could have been a rag doll. Although, reading this book, it made a few pieces of her appearance make more sense.


2.) THE HUMAN WORLD.

While it wasn't specifically explained in detail, I didn't know that the holiday worlds interacted with the human world (our world.) I'm not entirely sure what I truly thought. I guess, part of me thought that Christmastown was the only one that would have been connected to the human world, being located in the North Pole or something. . . But no.


These new revelations are going to make this year's rewatch so much more enlightening.


Dream Town


When it was first detailed that another tree had been discovered, one with a crescent moon symbol, I wasn't entirely sure what holiday or folklore was about to be introduced, but I thought it was very creative.


Dream Town was described incredibly. I could see the place in my head, like I watching a movie. I found myself wondering what this book would actually be like if it were adapted into a film. I can only imagine that the musical numbers would be as great as the first film.


Loyalty and Love


I was in awe at the way the author was able to keep the integrity of the characters consistent. Zero remained so loyal to Jack that I found myself crying in two of Zero's major moments. He refused to leave his best friend's side, even with the dangerous Sandman invading Halloweentown.


Sally's love for Jack is a key point in The Nightmare Before Christmas. It the one thing that drives Sally's actions of trying to warn Jack of the terrible mistake he's making. I only wish that there were have been more interaction between Jack and Sally in this book. However, despite him missing, you never second guess whether the author is going to slip up and taint their bond with something off-key. Sally remains undeniably in love with the Pumpkin King.

Final Thoughts


There's a few points that I wish I could address, but I would like to not spoil this book for anyone willing to give it a read during this spooky season. In the end, it told an incredible story and I hope the author continues to write more stories in this universe. She has definite snatched my interest.


Rating and Recommendation


5 out of 5 stars


I definite recommend that everyone who is a fan of The Nightmare Before Christmas give this book a read. It was a very quick read and paired well with the film, without changing too much. I will absolutely be saving title and reading it at least every other year, if not once a year.



5 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page