top of page

Bliss of a Nightmare (An Incomplete Poem) | Writer's Blog #9

[ March 2, 2022 ]


Hey, folks!


This blog features content that was written almost 10 years ago (2012.) I found a poem that I wrote with one of my old friends. We didn’t finish it, nor did we really have a plan as to what we were doing with it. We just wanted to write one together.

[Partial credit to this poem below goes to Veronica Borzumato.]


Part One


Drip. Drip. There's water running.

The clock on the wall has stopped ticking.

Every step… Every ragged breath…

The air smells of certain death.


Through the halls, screams and hollers echo.

They get louder as walk through the yellow door.

This isn’t what I asked for.

All my nightmares have morphed into one.


As they stare me in the eyes,

I struggle to keep balance.

My legs become unstable.

They buckle with force, and I fall face flat.


The monster growls as steps close.

I close my eyes and wait for it to devour me.


Part Two


As I wait, nothing happens.

I open my eyes to see someone tall, in front of me.


Reaching out a hand, I get a sense of relief.

Coming to save me, I take my hero’s hand.

When I open my eyes again,

I see a broken-down house in front of me.


We gather with a group of others inside.

Each of them is ready to fight by my side.

Another man hugs me from the side.


I look over and up to see someone I know.

Unlike the other, a familiar face to me.

He gazes into my eyes and smiles.

. . .


Reignite the Spark


Officially announced here, I’m going to be releasing another collection of poems in November from the pages of my composition journal. Also included in this collection will be some of my old “poetic” Facebook statuses from when I was an emotional, lovesick—and depressing at times—teenager.


Some of the titles include:

  • Here I Am

  • My Ken Doll

  • My Vampyre

  • Fairytale Ma$en

  • A Love Like Ours


Download the free PDF eBook of "Spark of Genius," here.


16 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page