top of page

An Enchanted Holiday (Christmas 2016) | Writer's Blog #5

Updated: Jan 10, 2022

[ December 22, 2021 ]


During Masen's first year in Brooke Haven, so much happened. He found his birth mother, his twin sister, and even found True Love... However, shortly after Braeghn used his magic to allow Masen to get pregnant with children, tensions rose, and the two of them split up.


After the birth of his triplets, Masen also dealt with the tragic loss of a friend (Alli du Kane) and the opening of his shop, High Garden. Now, here exclusively I've revisited Brooke Haven to tell the story of Masen's first Christmas in the town of enchantment.

[The following supplementary story is set after both Enchanted: A Happy Beginning and Wonderstruck: An Enchanted Sequel.]


TUESDAY, DECEMBER 20, 2016

AFTERNOON


Masen pushed open the front door of Barlet Rose. He was pushing the infant triplets in a 3-seated stroller. He parked it next to the sofa in the sitting room.

Audrey entered the house with six shopping bags hanging from her arms. She dropped them to the floor.


MASEN: Thanks for the help.

AUDREY: No problem. Need help wrapping the presents.

MASEN: No! (He held up a hand.) Sorry. I got it. I slipped your gift in one of the bags. I don’t want you to see it early.

AUDREY: Alright. (She smiled.) Need help getting the triplets upstairs?

MASEN: I got that, too. There’s an elevator now.

AUDREY: An elevator?

MASEN: Yeah. Braeghn installed it a few weeks ago. It’s at the end of the hallway, and it goes straight up, right between Sansa’s nursery and the boys’ nursery.

AUDREY: Oh. That must be convenient.


Audrey’s cellphone went off. It was a text message. She pulled it out of her pocket and read it.


MASEN: Something wrong?

AUDREY: The diner is swamped.

MASEN: Go ahead.

AUDREY: Are you sure? (She put her phone back in her pocket.) I’ll come back after we close.

MASEN: Okay.


Audrey kissed the triplets on their foreheads and then waved to Masen as she left. Masen closed the door behind her.


FRIDAY, DECEMBER 23, 2016

EVENING


Audrey and Masen were in the Barlet Rose kitchen, baking Christmas cookies. Audrey put a tray of cookie dough into the oven. She sat down on a barstool.

Masen leaned forward on the counter, which was covered in either flour or powdered sugar. He put down the piping bag in his hand.


MASEN: I don’t think I’ve asked but was something like Christmas celebrated in Miror?

AUDREY: Actually, yeah. It was called Yule, and it coincided with the Winter Solstice.

MASEN: I’ve heard of it. When I was in college, and when I used to practice Wicca, it was one of the Pagan sabbats.

AUDREY: Mother and I used to help the servants decorate Highgardyn castle. I wish you could have seen it.

MASEN: I bet it was beautiful.

AUDREY: The men in the kingdom would always bring in the biggest evergreen from the forest.

MASEN: Really? I’ve never decorated a holiday tree.

AUDREY: Your adoptive family didn’t do one?

MASEN: Well, my adoptive parents divorced when I was only four. From there, Garrett and Penelope swapped me between the holidays.

AUDREY: That doesn’t sound fun.

MASEN: Daniel, Penelope’s new husband, preferred taking trips for the holidays over decorating. Anya, Garrett’s wife, was a Jehovah’s Witness. She didn’t celebrate the holiday.

AUDREY: That explains why you were so excited to decorate the tree a few weeks ago.

MASEN: Exactly.


There was a knock on the front door.


AUDREY: Expecting company?

MASEN: Not that I know of. (He stood upright.) Isabelle and Abigail are with Harold in Troldyn.


Masen walked out of the kitchen. He went to the front door and opened it. However, no one was standing there. He looked around, and then he looked down.

At his feet, there was a large present. He bent down and picked it up.


AUDREY: Who is it? (She walked up.) Who is that from?

MASEN: I’m not sure.


He stepped back into the house and closed the door. Audrey picked the card off the top of the present.


AUDREY: “To my little darlings. B.B.”

MASEN: It’s from Braeghn.

AUDREY: That’s sweet.

MASEN: I wonder why he didn’t just come in and deliver himself.

AUDREY: He’s keeping his distance. Perhaps, he thinks by keeping his distance, he’s protecting you from getting hurt again.

MASEN: Maybe.


The oven timer in the kitchen sounded off. Masen sat the present on the sofa. The two of them ran into the kitchen.


SUNDAY, DECEMBER 25, 2016

NOON


Audrey entered Barlet Rose. Behind her, RJ and Harland followed her in. They were each holding presents. Masen turned his head on the sofa.


MASEN: Merry Christmas, guys.

AUDREY: Merry Christmas. (She walked over to the tree.) Put the presents by the tree.


RJ, Audrey’s son, was the first one to put his gifts down.


MASEN: RJ, there are some cookies on the bar in the kitchen.


RJ took off running into the kitchen.


AUDREY: Not too many! (She hollered to him.)


Harland sat down on the sofa across from Masen. He looked over at the triplets in their play pin. Each of them was in holiday-themed outfits.


AUDREY: Oh, my! They look so adorable! (She went over to the pin.)

MASEN: Beware. They’re having a very gassy day. Well, Stephen is, at least.

HARLAND: Your home looks very nice, Masen.

MASEN: This is your first time here. You should let me give you a tour later. It’s bigger than it seems.

HARLAND: I’d like that.

MASEN: I’m glad you decided to stay.

HARLAND: (He smiled at Audrey.) I’m just glad she decided to let me.

AUDREY: (She chucked.) Let’s open presents.

MASEN: Not just yet. I just got off the phone with Tink. She was wrapping a last-minute gift, and then she was headed over.

AUDREY: Oh. I thought she said she was gonna open the diner.

MASEN: I guilt-tripped her since this is my first Christmas in Brooke Haven.

AUDREY: Sounds good to me.

HARLAND: (He stood.) I’m gonna go keep RJ from eating all the cookies.


Harland walked away, headed to the kitchen. Audrey sat down next to Masen.


AUDREY: Okay, I’m about to burst. I have to tell you something.

MASEN: What is it?


There was a knock on the door, which interrupted Audrey’s news. Masen stood up and went to answer the door. It was Tinker Bell.


MASEN: Hey, Tink.

TINKER BELL: Hey. (She wasn’t alone.) I hope you don’t mind, but I brought a friend with me.


Braeghn stepped out from behind her. . .


Get Caught Up, If You Haven't


For the first two books in The Enchanted Saga, follow the links below!


Enchanted: A Happy Beginning (Part I) [$8.50]


Wonderstruck: An Enchanted Sequel (Part II) [$8.50]


Also, for a limited time, there's a hardcover edition of the first volume of The Enchanted Saga, which collects Enchanted: A Happy Beginning, Wonderstruck: An Enchanted Sequel, and a short novella titled Disenchanted: An Enchanted Prequel.


The Enchanted Saga: Volume One [Omnibus] [$19.99]


In the Comments: What's your Christmas/holiday traditions? Kendall watches Hallmark movies and I always make it a point to watch How the Grinch Stole Christmas (the Jim Carrey version) and The Nightmare Before Christmas. Also, what are your favorite Christmas songs? I like Frosty the Snowman.


6 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page