top of page

Impossible (Origin of My Creativity) | Writer's Blog #2

Updated: Jan 10, 2022

[ November 10, 2021 ]


I've always had the talent to be a storyteller, or so my grandmother always told me. It's a skill that I think I inherited from her. When I lived with her as I grew up, I'd sit beside her and she'd tell me a gazillion stories about her life. I always thought there were some exaggerated details thrown in there to amuse me... or not. I wasn't there, so there's no telling.

Finding My Creativity


Ever since I could write sentences on paper, I've been trying to get stories in my head out on paper. A few of them were easy to get, but others, not so much.


In late 2008, I was so obsessed with the movie Prom Night—the one with Brittany Snow in it, and that psycho teacher that was in love with her character. It inspired me to write a story of my own. It's also where I began writing in the same format Enchanted: A Happy Beginning is written in. Well, it was a low-level version of that.

  • It was about a girl and her sister, and they were being hunted by their stepfather. He killed their mother because he was obsessed with the older daughter. They ran away, and he ended up finding them. I think I named it, So Dead!

  • There were also sequels that I remember planning called, Too Dead! & So Totally Dead! [Don't judge me. It was a long time ago.]

Another story that I once had an idea for was called It's Magic!

  • It was about a girl and her best friend, and they were secretly in love with one another. They were also witches and went to a school in another realm. It was inspired by Disney's Return to Halloweentown.


Impossible


If you've already read my "About Me" here on the website, then you may have seen my mention of a short story that I wrote with my Mamaw. It was the first "completed" short story that I wrote. It was spawned by an idea my grandmother had.


Behind my grandmother's house, there was a field of horses. They belonged to her neighbor. Most of them were some shade of brown or black, but there was this white one that I thought was gorgeous. When I told my grandmother about it, she came out to see it, but it wasn't there. It was there, but it had moved to a spot where she couldn't see it. From then on, my grandmother liked to tell me that I could only see the impossible. Her reasoning: my mind wasn't corrupted by adult things and growing up.


One night, shortly before I went into tenth grade, she helped me write a story about a unicorn. "Impossible" was what we named it. However, a short time later, I lost the page we wrote it on. Although, I've never forgotten the importance of that story.


One day, in the near future, I want to recreate Impossible and release it to the world. I think the message it once represented is something worth sharing with both adults and children.


"When we're children, we're able to see impossible things because our minds haven't been altered and closed off by the adult world."


In the Comments: Tell me of a memory you have with someone close to you!! Also, if you're a fellow writer, what was the initial inspiration that got you started writing?

16 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page