top of page

Shadow Souls (L. J. Smith) | Book Review #2

Updated: Jan 10, 2022

[ The Vampire Diaries #6, The Return #2 ]


For those that tuned in for my blog post two weeks ago, Kendall and I are now on the penultimate novel in The Vampire Diaries book series.


Last Christmas, my sister and I both bought each other the complete book series for one another. Accidentally, we purchased a UK version of the series. We also read along with the Audible audiobooks by Rebecca Mozo.

Book: Shadow Souls (The Vampire Diaries #6) by L. J. Smith

44 chapters, 486 pgs.

Started: October 15, 2021

Finished: October 22, 2021


The Penultimate Novel?


When author L. J. Smith was first commissioned to write the series by Elise Donner, editor of Alloy Entertainment in 1990, she signed a "work for hire" contract. This meant that Alloy owned the copyrights to the series.


Smith went on to write the first seven books in the series. However, after a dispute regarding a pivotal plot twist, L. J. Smith's further involvement with the series was terminated by the publisher. This led to a ghostwriter to write The Hunters trilogy, and for author Aubrey Clark to write The Salvation trilogy.


Because of this, I consider this book to be the penultimate one because I currently have no intentions to read The Hunters or The Salvation, regardless of the paperback copies being in the boxset that Kendall bought me.


I found several rumors online that stated the "pivotal plot twist" was that Smith wanted Elena to choose Damon over Stefan, but the publishers were against it. However, I couldn't find anything solid to consider the source reliable. But if the rumors were true, fans of the TV series wouldn't have been disappointed because that's exactly how it ended up.


The Description


On the run . . .


Elena Gilbert’s love, the vampire Stefan Salvatore, has been captured and imprisoned by demonic spirits who are wreaking havoc in Fell’s Church. While her friends Bonnie and Meredith explore the evil that has taken over their town, Elena goes in search of Stefan.

In order to find him, she entrusts her life to Stefan’s brother, Damon Salvatore, the handsome but deadly vampire who wants Elena, body and soul. Along with her childhood friend Matt, they set out for the slums of the Dark Dimension, where Stefan is being held captive. It is rumored to be a world where vampires and demons roam free, but humans must live enslaved to their supernatural masters. . .

Elena will stop at nothing to free Stefan. Yet with each passing day the tension between Elena and Damon grows, and she is faced with a terrible decision: Which brother does she really want?


Back in Fell’s Church, Bonnie and Meredith have made some dire discoveries. They hastily try to follow Elena and warn her—only to be caught up in Elena’s most dangerous adventure yet.


The Review


This book picked up where the other one left off—Elena, Damon, and Matt out looking for Stefan. The plot in this one sped up early on, unlike Nightfall.


Our heroes find themselves in a “Dark Dimension” where Elena, Bonnie, and Meredith must act as Damon's slaves. However, it isn't long before Elena's actions put herself and the others in danger to save a pregnant slave from being beaten by her master.


The plot and setting of the "Dark Dimension" made me feel like was trapped in a strange period drama, but it lacked drama. Also, I was incredibly disappointed with the lack of Matt and Mrs. Flowers, especially after falling in love with them in the previous book.


I couldn't really relate to the new characters in the "Dark Dimension." Sage seemed like a wannabe Salvatore brother to me, almost like Enzo St. John from the television series.


The Insufferable Love Triangle


It's no lie that the main reason I'm reading this series is to get an answer to the age-old question: Who does Elena choose in the end; Stefan or Damon?


For every book, so far, Elena has turned down every advance from Damon... However, that changes with this book. This is what aggravated the heck out of me. I've never been a #delena fan, but I understood the reasoning for it in the TV series. Damon's just too arrogant and egotistical for my taste. Stefan is the better brother, in my opinion.


Final Thoughts

Like the previous book, even though it sounds like I didn't enjoy it, I did. It had pieces that I liked and found amusing. I am compelled to continue with the seventh book, Midnight. I'm sure most of it is because I'm just ready to know how it all ends so that I can move on to something else.


Kendall wants to check out the Stefan Diaries series, as well as the trilogy books for The Originals. Both are based on the TV series, and not these original books. I'm unsure of my involvement in those, though.


Rating and Recommendation


3 out of 5 stars


Still didn't have plenty of Stefan. Instead, I was given too much #delena. It was amusing, though, but not enough to give it a higher rating than the last one.


My recommendation doesn't change. I'd still recommend that fans of the TV series, as well as readers of vampire fiction to give this series a read.


In the Comments: If you read the books and seen the TV series, which do you guys like better and why? Also, who are your favorite characters? I love Caroline from the TV series.


Buy "Shadow Souls" by L. J. Smith on Amazon, here.


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page