top of page

Midnight (L. J. Smith) | Book Review #3

Updated: Jan 10, 2022

[ The Vampire Diaries #7, The Return #3 ]


For those just tuning in, my sister and I have been reading The Vampire Diaries book series for the past couple of months. Only starting with the fifth book (The Return, Book 1,) I've been posting reviews via this blog.


Well, we've finally reached the end. As I explained in the previous review, Kendall and I have only agreed to read the first seven books in the series... Because those are the only ones written by original author L. J. Smith.


Regarding the dispute of a pivotal plot twist, L. J. Smith was terminated by the publisher and was therefore unable to be involved with the series. [Online rumors stated this "pivotal plot twist" was that Smith wanted Elena to choose to be with Damon over Stefan, but the publishers were against it. However, I wouldn't consider the source of the rumor reliable.]

Book: Midnight (The Vampire Diaries #7) by L. J. Smith

44 chapters, 458 pgs.

Started: November 16, 2021

Finished: November 24, 2021


The Description


The devil you know...


With the help of charming and devious Damon, Elena rescued her vampire love, Stefan, from the depths of the Dark Dimension. But neither brother returned unscathed.


Stefan is weak from his long imprisonment and needs more blood than Elena alone can give him, while a strange magic has turned Damon into a human. Savage and desperate, Damon will do anything to become a vampire again - even travel back to hell. But what will happen when he accidentally takes Bonnie with him?

Stefan and Elena hurry to rescue their innocent friend from the Dark Dimension, leaving Matt and Meredith to save their hometown from the dangerous spirits that have taken hold of Fell's Church. One by one, children are succumbing to demonic designs. But Matt and Meredith soon discover that the source of the evil is darker - and closer - than they ever could have imagined...


The Review


Unlike the last two books, which started as slow burners, this one kept up the height of the storyline, if you can even call it that. The insanity of the plot didn't ease up either. I mean, The Return series in full has been one crazy ride, but this one surpassed the other two.


I've been telling Kendall from the very beginning that Meredith Sulez has been quite the most mysterious character in the book series. She wasn't included in the TV series, which was probably due to making Caroline a more prominent character.

However, the backstory that L. J. Smith finally revealed with this book was too outrageous to believe. The one human character that has been entirely human for six books... SHE ISN'T EVEN HUMAN!! She's half-vampire, and she's also a hunter/slayer.


Another complaint: The ridiculous middle names for some of the characters. Specifically, Caroline Beula Forbes! Matthew Jeffery Honeycutt wasn't nearly as horrid as Beula!


Continuing on from the last book is the aggravating assault case that Caroline has against Matt Honeycutt. That one got on my nerves. I've long not been a huge fan of Matt, but I continuously felt bad for him. I'm also a huge Caroline Forbes fan, but that's not the case in the books. It's almost like my opinions on Matt and Caroline are swapped when watching the show and reading the books.


I didn't want to be sad, but Damon's death was making my eyes water. It wasn't full-on crying because I never cared much for him. I was really beginning to accept him having major feelings for Bonnie. It was cute.


I told myself during that last book that there was something off about Isobel's grandmother, and I was totally right. I didn't say anything in the last review because I didn't wanna feel stupid for being wrong. I WASN'T.


I got excited by the reference to the twin merge by Shinichi. It was slight, but I could help but think it was the inspiration for the Gemini coven in the TV series. Also, Shinichi's death caught me totally off guard, but once I realized he was dead, I did a little cheer. I've been waiting for it since Nightfall.


Final Thoughts

I'm not sure that I accept what I was given as a real ending. I didn't exactly have a perfect ending in mind, but I know that it wasn't what I was given. Chapter 42, where the series got what is basically a reboot, was sort of lame in my opinion.


I expected to see this series end on a good farewell, but I got some sort of a cliffhanger instead. I mean, the series does continue with a ghostwriter, but it just doesn't sound right to continue without the original author. I'm more frustrated than I wanted to be at this point, but I suppose it doesn't come at the fault of Smith.


For the moment, I've decided not to continue reading the other six books, but I've told Kendall that she can read them without me. We both own the others, but this is where I'm choosing to get off on the Vampire Diaries train.


Rating and Recommendation


2 out of 5 stars


This book was my least favorite in the series because I thought it had too much absurdity. Of all the three books I've read and reviewed in The Return series, I'd have to say that Nightfall has been my favorite. With that said, the first four original books are 5 out of 5 for me. However, my heart still goes out to the TV series.


Am I compelled to read other books by author L.J. Smith? Heck yeah! The next series I want to check out by her is The Secret Circle, but I don't exactly know when I'm going to start that one.


Buy "Midnight" by L. J. Smith on Amazon, here.


3 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page