top of page

King's Mate (Melissa Blincoe) | Book Review #7

[ Tyrannadon Mates #1 ]


One of my personal goals for 2022 is to support other independent authors. By doing so, I offered to read a book by Melissa Blincoe. Although, I wasn’t aware that it was an erotica novel. Nevertheless, I promised to give an honest review, so here it goes.

Book: Kings Mate (Tyrannadon Mates #1) by Melissa Blincoe

22 parts, 116 pgs.

Started: January 25, 2022

Finished: January 26, 2022


The Description


Natalie Marina never imagined that aliens existed, much less, hot ones. Now, these dinosaur-like aliens have landed on Earth and are looking for women to mate with and save their species. She would rather go on the run before letting that happen, but she's been matched to the King of Tyrannadon.


Determined to tough it out for the seven courtesy days and then come back, she finds it difficult to resist the handsome King Rexxor—but she must. She can’t risk losing her heart to him.


King Rexxor finds a lot of things to be barbaric but finding that they are compatible with these strange Terrans takes the grekking cake. That is, until he sees her. Natalie triggered his mating marks and he instantly desires her scent and her sassy attitude.


Can he convince her that they were meant to be, or will he lose yet another mate?



The Review


Before anything, let me just tell you all that enjoyed this book way more than I thought I was going to. After Melissa told me that people reviewed this book as being "terrible" or "...just garbage," I decided to go into this book with a very open mind.


Instantly, I noticed that there were a severe number of grammar and punctuation errors, but those can always be an easy fix.


From the beginning, I was instantly interested in the storyline of the females on Earth being Tyrannadon's last hope for the species to repopulate their planet. It was possibly just enough to compel me to actually give the next books a read.


Initially, I was blindsided by the discovery that this was an erotic story. I haven't read one of them since I purchased the free audiobook of the first Fifty Shades of Grey book when those movies were coming out. Nevertheless, I didn't let that interfere with what I had been tasked to do; figure out why people were feeling so negative about it.


This book isn't just a sex story, which is what I kept telling myself. I mean, it is a major key point in the story. The theme I picked up on it was love, not just lust. Rexxor believed that he didn't deserve another mate (after losing his previous one to a plague,) and Natalie initially refused to be a part of the arranged mating program that she gets sucked into. However, once they're matched to one another, they become drawn to one another quickly on a sort of soul level. I thought it could be kind of romantic.


Final Thoughts


Overall, King's Mate is good if you overlook all the grammar and punctuation errors (and there are a lot of them). Some of the dialogue could have also been dialed back to not sound so cliché.


The work and dedication that Melissa Blincoe went through to research dinosaurs and build a sort of mythology about the planet of Tyrannadon should definitely be noted. Most erotic novels that I've browsed have fallen short of this.


Rating and Recommendation


4 out of 5 stars


Despite the severe work that the author needs to do with the grammar and punctuation errors, it was a really well-formed novel. I absolutely enjoyed this book.


Personally, I will be checking out the next one because there was sort of a cliffhanger at the end that I want to see resolved, and I want to see how the Twins' mate reacts to having to share the two of them.


Buy "King's Mate" by Melissa Blincoe on Amazon, here.


6 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page