top of page

Hidden (Helen Frost) | Book Review #5

Updated: Jan 10, 2022

[ December 29, 2021 ]


I don’t like to just a book by the cover, but that’s what drew my attention to this. It was sitting on the shelf at my local Dollar Tree. I like to scroll through them, picking out the interesting ones. Once I’m drawn in by the cover, I read the summary. That’s the real attention-snatcher.


The writing style is what really sets it apart from most books I’ve read. The author gives each of the main characters their own unique style.

Book: Hidden by Helen Frost

3 chapters, 142 pgs.

Started: April 5, 2021

Finished: April 11, 2021


The Description


When Wren Abbott and Darra Monson are eight years old, Darra's father steals a minivan. He doesn't know that Wren is hiding in the back. The hours and days that follow change the lives of both girls. Darra is left with a question that only Wren can answer. Wren has questions, too.

Years later, in a chance encounter at camp, the girls face each other for the first time. They can finally learn the truth—that is, if they're willing to reveal to each other the stories that they've hidden for so long.


Told from alternating viewpoints, this novel-in-poems reveals the complexities of memory and the strength of a friendship that can overcome pain.


The Review


The book is told through the innovative point of view alternation between Wren and Darra. It isn’t like any other book that I’ve ever read. The styles and voices are so different between them.


Wren is written in free verse.

  • According to Frost’s notes of the form, the placement of Wren’s words on the page is similar to music notation.

Darra’s unique writing style was invented for this book.

  • The last words of the long lines, when reading down the right side of the page, tell their own story.

Originally, before reading Frost’s notes, I was upset at not being able to connect to Darra. I was able to get Wren’s story immediately through the plot and style of her writing. Once I understood what “last words of the long lines” meant, I went back through and read it. I instantly received the essence of Darra’s story that I craved.


The book was a short, quick read... Just like this review.


Final Thoughts

Despite the 7-day length of my start-to-finish dates, it only took me three days to actually read this. It could have been knocked out in just one sitting, but I stretched it out so I could savor each brilliantly written part.


It takes true skill to write one story in different forms, but Helen Frost truly succeeded. I initially thought there wasn't enough written to be able to tell the story in completion. However, it left me satisfied once I received Darra's "hidden" essence.


Rating and Recommendation


5 out of 5 stars


I recommended this book to several of my friends in the moments after finishing it. If you're looking for a super short and interesting, or just something that is written in verse, I suggest giving this one a try!


Buy "Hidden" by Helen Frost on Amazon, here.


6 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page