top of page

Abandoned (Melissa Blincoe) | Book Review #10

[ A Warrior's Mate #1 ]


Lately, I've been reviewing a lot of Melissa's books, but I can't stop. I'm not sure if it's because of the lack of actual sex in my own life, or the fact that I so badly want to be mated to one of the sexy, delicious Dinotonians in the Tyrannadon Mates series.


I’m not usually a fan of erotica, as I've stated in each of my reviews for her books, but I have become obsessed with her fantasy world. This book, however, veers away from Tyrannadon and took me to another planet... Nevertheless, this was an exciting read.

Book: Abandoned (A Warrior's Mate #1) by Melissa Blincoe

15 parts, 152 pgs.

Started: March 1, 2022

Finished: March 7, 2022


The Description


Viserion just wants everything to stay the same. Feeling a void in his soul, he plays it off as nerves for the choosing that is to arrive.


Until she appears from the heavens...


Tiny, pale, and fragile, Viserion finds himself drawn in by the feisty, foul-mouthed female. She is a different species, but that doesn't stop his desire to have her all to himself. Consequences be damned!


The Review


My first thought from the first chapter... This is going to follow a plot very close to the Tyrannadon Mates series. I was wrong. Initially, I wasn't, though.


Earth makes contact with an alien race.

A human girl is forced to another planet.

That's about it.


From the moment Krista is taken to the other planet, I got an entirely different vibe. Natalie wasn't treated like a victim. Sure, Krista had the right to be very offensive, seeing as she was kidnapped and forced. Viserion could have been nicer!!


I loved the language barrier between Krista's English and Viserion's native tongue. It was a hoot to watch him trip over words that Krista used. It made me believe that they were truly from very different worlds.


Let me get to the mythology because that's probably one of the best parts of this book. Do you all remember James Cameron's 2009 Avatar film? Well, this gave me the same feeling that that film did. Hearing about the Goddess (Nagui) and the Guardian of the Pearl Gates (Urkon, the silver dragon)... I need a sequel.


Final Thoughts


I enjoyed this book. Before I read it, I skimmed through it. I know that's a terrible thing to do because not only do you spoil some of what are supposed to be "moments of surprise," but you also catch a lot of things out of context.


I have read a lot of fairytales in my life, and I think that's hard-wired me into expecting nearly every story that I read to involve some sort of Stockholm Syndrome. It makes for not being blindsided when the main female falls in love with her captor that's been ridiculing her for half the novel.


It started out like that in my opinion, but my point of view changed rather quickly when I caught on quickly to the context I'd so carelessly robbed myself of by skimming through it.


Lastly, I think I've discovered exactly why I like reading Melissa's erotica above giving others a try. Sure, there's a ton of sex, but they're enthusiastic scenes. I can feel both the lust and love between the characters during those steamy scenes.


Rating and Recommendation


4 out of 5 stars


As always, I do recommend this book to anyone willing to get hooked on a novel with a truly out-of-this-world setting (as long as you’re 18+.)


I can't wait to see where Melissa goes next with a sequel. Although, I have two theories of my own. I just wonder how close I am.

  • There was mention, toward the end, involving Trogan and Gale. I hope there's a story there. I'm interested.

  • The cliffhanger at the end leads me to believe that we're going to be visiting the Goddess Nagui's realm.

Only time will tell. I am really excited about the future of this series, though. I can't wait to see what fantastic web Melissa Blincoe weaves next.


Buy "Abandoned" by Melissa Blincoe on Amazon, here.


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page